AIMIM in Maharashtra and Karnataka

AIMIM made its entry in Maharashtra civic polls in October 2012 and scored an impressive victory in Nanded city municipal council by winning 11 divisions. AIMIM also made its electoral debut in Karnataka by winning six divisions in civic elections held in March 2013. AIMIM won three seats each in Bidar and Basvakalyan municipal councils. AIMIM contested the Assembly elections in Maharashtra for the first time in 1999 when it contested one seat. A decade later, in 2009, AIMIM contested two seats (Nanded North and Latur City) unsuccessfully. AIMIM entered the Assembly poll arena in Maharashtra for the third time but on a larger scale in 2014. Two AIMIM nominees emerged victorious– from Byculla constituency in Mumbai city and Aurangabad Central constituency in Marathwada region. Three AIMIM candidates were runners-up—in Aurangabad East, Parbhani and Solapur City Central. AIMIM’s 24 candidates in the poll fray polled a total of 4,89,614 votes. AIMIM also supported a Dalit candidate of Panthers Republican Party who polled 35,348 votes. The overall vote tally of 25 candidates aggregated to 524,962.