AIMIM in state legislature

AIMIM increased its tally to three seats in the 1967 Assembly polls. Salar-e-Millat Sultan Salahuddin Owaisi, contesting from Charminar constituency, defeated Congress candidate Mir Ahmed Ali Khan, sitting MLA from Malakpet and Home Minister in Kasu Brahmamanda Reddy’s cabinet who had shifted from his home constituency to unsuccessfully take on Salar-e-Millat. Again, AIMIM won three seats each in 1972 and 1978 elections, five seats in 1983, four seats each in 1985 and 1989, one seat in 1994, four seats in 1999, five seats in 2004 and seven seats each in 2009 and 2014 elections. Thus, AIMIM has uninterrupted presence in the State Legislative Assembly for over 52 years with its members elected in 12 General Elections since 1962. The polls during 1962-2014 were held in united AP and Telangana State came into being on 2nd June 2014. AIMIM MLAs elected in 2014 are members of Telangana Legislative Assembly now. AIMIM made its foray into the State Legislative Council with the election of its first MLC from Assembly in 2007. The Party got another MLC elected from Hyderabad Local Authorities Constituency in 2010. Both Members were re-elected in 2011 for a six-year term.