AIMIM mayors for Hyderabad

AIMIM captured power in the Municipal Corporation of Hyderabad in 1986 municipal polls when it emerged as the single largest party in the 100-member civic body with 38 corporators. AIMIM ruled the MCH for five years, with its nominees holding the posts of Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Standing Committee chairperson. The first AIMIM Mayor of Hyderabad was a Dalit, K Prakash Rao. AIMIM got three Dalit Mayors elected in the MCH. AIMIM also had a Dalit and a Girijan (ST) member elected as Deputy Mayor. Two AIMIM Mayors and three Deputy Mayors hailed from Muslim community. AIMIM emerged as single largest party again when MCH polls were held in 2002, winning 36 out of 100 corporator divisions. AIMIM controlled the Standing Committee of the MCH, though the TDP-BJP alliance shared the Mayor and Deputy Mayor posts. After the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation was formed in 2007 with the merger of 12 adjoining municipalities with the MCH, civic elections were held in 2009. AIMIM emerged as single largest party in the erstwhile MCH area, winning 41 out of 100 divisions and its overall tally was 43 in the 150-member body. For first two years (2009-11), AIMIM’s nominee Jaffer Hussain Meraj held the post of Deputy Mayor. In January 2012, AIMIM corporator Mohammad Majid Hussain was elected as Mayor of GHMC. His term came to an end in December 2014.